#Author Chat with Sandy Nathan @SandyONathan #SciFi #GoodReads

Image of Sandy Nathan

Why do you write?

I can’t help it. I’ve always written academically or professionally, but in 1993 I had a personal disaster. After working like crazy to heal myself for two years, I had a gigantic transcendent experience, which left the plot of a book in my mind. A series, actually, which was delivered in an instantaneous inner experience. That happened in 1995. I haven’t been able to stop writing since. I’ve got two series going and a couple of miscellaneous books.

Have you always enjoyed writing?

No. I used to enjoy waterskiing and riding my horse more. I’ve always written; I had to in school and at work. I didn’t start writing as a full time profession until 1995.

What motivates you to write?

Words bang around inside my head until I let them out. That’s my daily experience. What’s behind the words is a desire to save the world, elevate consciousness, and heal everyone. I’m giving it my best shot. Looking at the news, I don’t seem to be having much success.

What writing are you most proud of? 

That’s a hard one. I’ve written a lot. I’m most proud of Mogolllon: A Tale of Mysticism & Mayhem. It’s coming out in 2014. It combines raging action, spirituality, love, and (I hope) a vision of the divine.

Of my books in print, I like The Headman & the Assassin, Earth’s End 3. This is the third book in the Earth’s End series. The previous books in the series are rootin’ tootin’ sci-fi. Lots of action and big splashy events. The Headman is a story about a relationship that lasts 34 years, all of it in a gigantic underground bomb shelter. It focuses on two people, Sam Baahuhd, the leader of the village on Veronica Edgarton’s estate, and Valerie Zanner, a killer and torturer for FBI before she had to take refuge in the shelter. It has every permutation a love story can have. This is how I would do romance. It’s a deep book, and a moving one. Best to read the previous two books before this, just to know what’s going on.

What are you most proud of in your personal life?

That I’m alive and thriving. I have a wonderful marriage, three great kids, and two grandkids. Up above, I speak of a personal disaster. It was truly awful, the kind of thing that most people don’t get over. I did. That’s one reason I’m so grateful to be able to write. That’s why I write books that are uplifting and inspiring. (They’re also bloody, violent and sexy. Those do go with spirituality, oddly enough.)

What books did you love growing up?

The Tarzan Series by Edgar Rice Burroughs. You can get the books cheap as Kindle books. I just bought a Kindle package of Burroughs’ work: 24 books for $1.99. They’re still good reads.

Who is your favorite author?

Halldor Laxness, the 1955 Nobel Prize winner from Iceland is my favorite author. He’s simply brilliant. I’m half Icelandic, so I’m interested in things from that country. Laxness was my greatest discovery. His Independent People is a masterpiece. A word of warning: it’s so grim that it makes Angela’s Ashes look like Mary Poppins.

Do you find the time to read?

Unfortunately, I don’t get to read other author’s work very much. I read my own drafts. It’s called polishing or rewriting. I put my books-in-process on my Kindle and pick away at errors.

Last book you purchased? Tell us about it.
I bought a book about how to use the Scrivener word processing program for writers. It was Scrivener for Extreme Dummies Who Can’t Even Figure Out Scrivener for Dummies. Something like that. I can’t make head nor tail of it, though I can see that Scrivener is a very valuable tool for writers.

What are you most proud of accomplishing so far in your life?

Finishing by books and getting them published, for sure. What I’m really proud of is walking away from a PhD program in economics at Stanford’s Graduate School of Business. When I was accepted, I wanted that degree and program more than anything. At that time, people with PhDs weren’t like God to me, they were God. I saw a lot in that program that debunked that notion. Mostly, I realized that I couldn’t do the math. I didn’t have the mathematical aptitude and never would have it. The best I could do if I with the PhD degree would be a mediocre economics professor somewhere. So I bailed. I’d never done that before.

https://i2.wp.com/www.orangeberrybooktours.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/download.jpg

Buy Now @ Amazon

LadyGraceFrontCover-345

Buy Now @ Amazon

The-Headman-&-the-Assassin_345

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Metaphysical Science Fiction

Rating – R

More details about the author and the book

Connect with Sandy Nathan on Facebook and Twitter

Leave a Reply

