#Author Chat with Jessica Myers @BloodBoundJLM #Paranormal

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I always loved reading and as a teenager began writing poems, song lyrics and short stories about the dark things from my nightmares and the devastating events of my actual life. Writing has always been an emotional outlet for me.

When did you first know you could be a writer?

I never thought of myself as a writer, nor did I ever think I would become one. I’d always had a creative side and apart from poetry, song lyrics and short stories, I used to put my efforts into drawing and painting. Unfortunately the things I drew never resembled what I imagined in my mind, well except for the dark evil creatures I sketched sometimes. So when did I first know I could be a writer? I guess I always knew I could write, but until I’d finished the draft for What Lies Inside I guess I hadn’t accepted it.

What genre are you most comfortable writing?

I love writing paranormal and urban fantasy with compelling romance. These are also the genres I love to read. That said, I’m also drawn to thrillers and plan to write a psychological thriller once the Blood Bound Series is finished.

What do you consider the most challenging about writing a novel, or about writing in general?

The most challenging part about writing a novel for me is revision. I write first draft for me, fingers flying over the keyboard to put down all the action, events and romance as I see them happening. Revision is for YOU, the reader. Revision is also for me, because I want to put out the absolute best work I can, but predominately I way the readers to enjoy what I’ve created, the world, the characters and their stories.

Did writing this book teach you anything and what was it?

Writing this book has taught me so much. It’s helped me work through hard times and past life experiences that I hadn’t been able to move past. This book has also taught me the complicated process of writing and revising a book, and everything in between to publish a completed work that is worth a stranger giving their time to sit down and read.

Do you intend to make writing a career?

Writing is what I love and I will do it for as long as I have the passion to create new and unique stories. As well as writing I operate a small business with my husband that pays the bills, and I will always do my part to keep our company growing. Though if in the future writing became a prospect that could earn a living, I would do whatever was needed to make that happen.

Have you developed a specific writing style?

I have been told that I have a unique writing style and voice, but I also know that I am constantly developing as a writer and honing my ability and skill.

What is your greatest strength as a writer?

I think my greatest strength as a writer is being able to envision what I’m writing as if I were watching it on the television or at the movies. Being able to see the details, sets, characters and everything that happens from their expressions to actions I think adds a depth of reality to everything I write.

Have you ever had writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

I think all writers experience writers block now and then. My trick is to ignore it, to simply start writing knowing that the first paragraph or page will need re-writing and just keep going. Once I get the flow of words and sentences started I’m quickly able to see what should happen next and what should have happened in the beginning.

How did you come up with the title?

Originally What Lies Inside was named Forbidden, but with the trend of one-line book titles coming out I wanted something different, something that related to more than just the main character’s forbidden love for her mortal enemy. So I began brainstorming. In the end I decided on What Lies Inside. It encompasses the theme of lies, betrayal and secrets throughout the story, but also to hints at the monster that has lied unawakened in Amelia until the book’s starting events, and her newfound struggle to keep the monster hidden inside her.

Can you tell us about your main character?

Amelia is a strong and intelligent young woman who’s just discovered her vampire heritage. This revelation turns her entire world upside-down, leaving her to struggle through the sudden change her life has now taken. She’s awkward and angry and utterly human in her struggles to understand what she’s become and how she fits into a suddenly strange world, with new enemies and uncontrollable feelings and impulses.

How did you develop your plot and characters?

I started writing What Lies Inside without any real idea of how the story would progress and only knowing that forbidden love between two feuding races would be the catalyst that would move the plot and characters forward. This was due to my inexperience, and I’ve since developed methods to plot out a story before starting to write it. Though even with my inexperience in this case, something amazing happened. As I began writing, intriguing ideas came to me that gave my characters real desires and real obstacles to overcome. The story idea I’d initially had morphed into a complex plot of lies, desires, secrets, hidden agendas and twists that still give me goose bumps when I read them.

Who designed the cover?

The cover for What Lies Inside was professionally designed by Cory from Digital Print Australia. Being my first cover, I wasn’t familiar with the process. Cory was great, though. He took my ideas and sourced an image that worked for my story and characters, and then modified it until I was 100% happy. To this day, every time I see the cover I can’t help but feel excited.

Who is your publisher?

I am my own publisher. Being self-published I hold all rights to my work and although I did look into traditional publishing, I decided last year that indie pub was the way I wanted to go. If any aspiring writers are looking to take the indie route I’m always happy to offer advice from my own experience of the process. Just contact me here http://bloodboundnovels.com/contact/

Why did you choose to write this particular book?

Firstly I absolutely love anything vampire or werewolf related, even before the Twilight buzz. All other supernatural creatures intrigue me too, but vamps and wolves will always be my favourites. So I had my character species sorted. On top of that I wanted to tell a story about love, and how anything worth loving in life is worth fighting for. Amelia’s journey to find true love was never going to be an easy one, but I hope the reader comes away with the belief that all her pain, struggles and self-growth are worth the outcome of finding ‘the one’.

What was the hardest part about writing this book?

I think the hardest part about writing this book was pinning down Amelia’s character. In the draft she was rather weak and flat, and definitely not how I had envisioned her to be. This lack of character depth was one of the reasons I went through the tedious revision process to learn how to fix this—the first time around. What came out of this process was a strong heroine who fights for what she wants, and who will spout insult in her enemies face even when her death is seconds away. I hope you love reading her as much as I loved re-creating her character.

Will you write others in this same genre?

The Blood Bound Series will be at least 4 books in length, so yes, I will definitely be writing more books in the Paranormal Romance genre. Post this series I do have a psychological thriller I’m committed to writing, but past that the many other book ideas I have in Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy will be next in line.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want my readers to believe that although they might be different and feel like an outsider, intruder, or someone who just doesn’t belong, that there is always someone out there in the world who does and will accept them no matter what. I also want my readers to know that no matter how dark things seem in their lives that there is always hope around the corner, and a better day on the way.

What contributes to making a writer successful?

Hard work, determination, skill and passion are needed to make a writer successful. Contacts will always help you get there faster, but if you don’t put in the hard yards and don’t have the passion and skill to tell a rich story that matters, then beyond luck you won’t get far for too long.

Do you have any advice for writers?

If you love what you do and have something to share that will matter to other people, then go for it! Don’t listen to the people who tell you that you can’t. Listen to yourself and your supporters.

Do you have any specific last thoughts that you want to say to your readers?

Anyone can write, we’re taught to from an early age. But writing with passion and love comes from the heart and soul, from your life experiences and the pain and triumphs you’ve gone through to get to where you are today. Being a writer means putting yourself out there and being vulnerable. It takes strength and determination, but when you’ve touched other people’s lives with your words, it’s worth every single thing you’ve put into it.

What Lies Inside

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – YA Paranormal Romance

Rating – PG-13+

More details about the author and the book

Connect with  Jessica Myers on Facebook & Twitter

Website http://bloodboundnovels.com

Leave a Reply

