Author Interview – Heidi Garrett

What book genre of books do you adore? Fantasy and Magical Realism. They give the best expression to the other layers of reality I believe exist.

How did you develop your writing? When I first considered writing a novel, I plunged onto the page. However, back then, I didn’t have the discipline to persevere or the ability to take critique and use it to help me grow in the craft of writing. So that book never got finished and I went off to songwriting, which I really enjoyed. I suspect the years that I spent studying music balanced the right and left sides of my brain, so when I came back to the novel, I was more comfortable with drawing from my imagination and focusing on my technique.

How much sleep do you need to be your best? I love sleep. I probably need at least 8 hours a day to be at my best, unfortunately, I rarely get that. Someday…some night…I’ll get enough sleep.

Is there anyone you’d like to acknowledge and thank for their support? It would have been impossible to publish and continue writing without the intense support of my husband. He’s been with me every step of the way.

Every writer has their own idea of what a successful career in writing is, what does success in writing look like to you? Creating stories, worlds, and characters that readers love. If you’ve done that, you’re a successful writer. If you’ve done that, it’s enough.

images (3)

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Fantasy

Rating – PG

More details about the author

Connect with Heidi Garrett on Facebook & Twitter

Blog http://www.heidigwrites.blogspot.com/

Tags:
Leave a Reply

