Closing The Gap: Understanding Your Service (Wo)man by Yvonne Jones

FOREWORD

When I was growing up I had a lot of dreams. I wanted to see the world because I wished to experience what was beyond our borders. I wanted to learn how to speak English so I could understand all of the great songs that were playing on the radio. I wanted to go to college to make a better life for myself.

Indirectly, the military has given me all that, and more. Without the military, I would have never gotten to know my husband, whom I met while he was stationed in Germany. Without the military, I wouldn’t have been able to see, visit, and live in so many beautiful places. Without the military, I would have never mastered the English language enough to write this book. Without the military, I would have never had the resources to actually fulfill my dreams to further my education and to be the first in my family to obtain a college degree.

The military has and still does so very much for military service(wo)men, the military family, and the military community as a whole. But it’s the intangibles the military taught us that are so very significant. It’s learning that no matter how difficult a challenge, with discipline, drive, and determination you can accomplish anything and are capable of so much more than you would have ever thought. It’s being a part of a cause bigger and more important than yourself, and learning to say “we” instead of “me.” Being a part of the military is being part of a tradition – brave Americans who fought generation after generation, from the war for independence to present-day battles in the Middle East. But most of all, it’s the privilege of serving with or being amongst some of the best, bravest, and most selfless men and women you’ll ever meet. It’s the honor of being part of them that makes up the whole. The military instilled in us pride for our communities, but more importantly pride in ourselves. We wouldn’t trade our experiences for anything. For all that the military has given and provided us, we’ll be forever grateful. What we are grateful for the most, however, is our families’ and friends’ unconditional support and love throughout all these years. It’s this affection and love for you all that motivated me to write this book.

Closing The Gap

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Military Family

Rating – G

More details about the author

Connect with  Yvonne Jones on Facebook

Website http://www.understandingyourserviceman.com/

Leave a Reply

